I Love the Way You Lie

I don’t really like rap. I don’t know if it’s just because I’m a pasty white kid, or if my love of anime and odd things took over the spot where rap-liking should be, but I just can’t listen to it.

Last night at work, I finally found a more legitimate reason. I’m setting up the final round of movies into the projectors, when a song comes on.

Just gonna stand there
And watch me burn
But that’s alright
Because I like
The way it hurts
Just gonna stand there
And hear me cry
But that’s alright
Because I love
The way you lie

“I love the way you lie?” Is Rihanna for real? The song, if it can be called that, alternates between Eminem saying what an evil guy he is and Rihanna giving him permission to be that guy.

I can’t think of any reason this song needs to exist, other than to perpetuate the feeling that it’s okay for a guy to be like that, just as long as he has some qualities the girl likes, though I can’t see lying as a good quality to have.

Ironically, the next song had a female vocalist singing call me sugar -so incessantly that you’d think that was all it took to get with her- followed by a guy singing “I’m only gonna break your heart.”

And I thought Justin Beiber was clueless on love. Eminem, Rihanna, what’s your excuse?

Leave a Reply

