Learning Esperanto

So, my brother Jim introduced me to a language called Esperanto. I at first thought it would be one of those nerdy things like when I tried to learn Na’vi after watching James Cameron’s Avatar. (BTW, that language is really hard to learn. kudos to anyone who can speak it.)

But, when I looked into it, I found a language that I could understand. I didn’t have to have a translator to understand the grammar principle behind the language. So I probed further into the language and its history. Being a writer and someone who had made the attempt to create his own language (I never got very far with I’Holso…) Esperanto became something I felt I needed to support.
So, here’s the real kicker, and the object I am putting to the test in the upcoming months while I wait for Juniper Crescent to finish going through the editing phase: Many sites, like Lernu, promise mastery of the language in months, not years. I have months available to me, and have already begun my study of Esperanto. I’m going to keep track of where I am at, and how well I can speak in this language on this blog.
Here’s where I am at right now. This morning I learned 2 new prefixes and 2 suffixes. It’s these additions to a root word that conjugate and form what we say. It’s kind of like Spanish in this regard. For example:

lerni means to learn.
Mi lernas Esperanto = I am learning Esperanto.
Mi lernis = i learned
mi lernos = i will learn
lernu = learn it! (It’s the equivalent of Spanish imperative tense, or English commands or requests)
Mi eklernas = I am starting to learn
Mi relernas = I am relearning.
2 thoughts on “Learning Esperanto

  1. And then, what are you going to do with this language Esperanto?
    Listen to music?

    you will find the text under the pictures

    compare with the Spanish

  2. Yes, use it! The language has some remarkable practical benefits. Personally, I've made friends around the world through Esperanto that I would never have been able to communicate with otherwise. And then there's the Pasporta Servo, which provides free lodging and local information to Esperanto-speaking travellers in over 90 countries. Over recent years I have had guided tours of Berlin, Douala and Milan in this planned language. I have discussed philosophy with a Slovene poet, humour on television with a Bulgarian TV producer. I've discussed what life was like in East Berlin before the wall came down, how to cook perfect spaghetti, the advantages and disadvantages of monarchy, and so on. I recommend it, not just as an ideal but as a very practical way to overcome language barriers.

Leave a Reply

