Music Behind Juniper Crescent: Jimmy Eat World

This weekend, after MileHiCon, I took a break and went through my old notebooks from when I was outlining and researching Juniper Crescent. I found the playlist I had used when I was writing, and it brought back so many memories.

I had organized the playlist by character and by event. Now that the book is out and other people know what I’m talking about, I hope I can share some of this and see if people saw and felt what I saw and felt as I put this project together. Juniper Crescent has been an emotional experience for me, and I’ve grown to love the characters I worked with. I say that because saying “I created” feels… weird. They’ve taken on a life of their own. Once I knew who they were, they told me their story, and I felt the gift of inscribing their story on paper and my mind.

In the book, we never really got to meet Realla Vor Tallen. The first chapter presents the tragedy that takes her from her family and sets the stage for Oksanya as well as Darren as they adapt their family to their circumstances. Realla’s personality and brief interaction in the story has been (and still is) my greatest dream as I seek after my sweetheart, and as I see other struggle and succeed in finding love. I have two older brothers who look like they have found their soulmates, and my parents still exemplify love to me when I see them interact.

Chapter 1 had new life to me when I heard the song “May Angels Lead You In” by Jimmy Eat World. Most people know the band for the popular song “The Middle,” which radios delighted in playing time and time again until something newer and more popular came along. My brother Joel inadvertently exposed me to “May Angels Lead You In,” and that song became the powerful backdrop to the first chapter of Juniper Crescent.

Here’s the lyrics, courtesy of Metrolyrics.com

There’s no one in town I know

You gave us some place to go.

I never said thank you for that.

I thought I might get one more chance.

What would you think of me now,

so lucky, so strong, so proud?

I never said thank you for that,

now I’ll never have a chance.

May angels lead you in.

Hear you me my friends.

On sleepless roads the sleepless go.

May angels lead you in.

Now what would you think of me now,

so lucky, so strong, so proud?

I never said thank you for that,

now I’ll never have a chance.

May angels lead you in.

Hear you me my friends.

On sleepless roads the sleepless go.

May angels lead you in.

And if you were with me tonight,

I’d sing to you just one more time.

A song for a heart so big,

god couldn’t let it live.

May angels lead you in.

Hear you me my friends.

On sleepless roads the sleepless go.

May angels lead you in.

May angels lead you in.

Hear you me my friends.

On sleepless roads the sleepless go.

May angels lead you in.

May angels lead you in.

 

Leave a Reply

