Guest Post: Angela Carlie

Today on the website, it is my pleasure to have Angela Carlie be the guest blogger. With three books under her belt and a fourth on the way, she’s staking her claim in the author world.

Angela Carlie is the author of Dream Smashers, an edgy contemporary about a girl whose mother is a meth addict, Loramendi’s Story, a paranormal romance, and Land of Corn Chips, a middle grade novel.

Angela has lived in the Pacific Northwest her entire life. She enjoys hanging out with her husband and twelve-year-old son, reading, writing, hiking, kayaking, and traveling.

She’s a member of DarkSide Publishing, The Pacific Northwest YA Authors, and The Northbank Workshop.

Although Loramendi’s Story is the first complete full length novel I wrote, it was the third to be published. In August of 2008, I had an idea for the story. What if fairytale creatures really do exist? Like shapeshifters, witches, wizards, dragons, etc. And what if they lived in my backyard, the Pacific Northwest?

Based on that, I wrote a novel in about a month. I then had some friends read it. Of course they loved it. Duh. They’re my friends. So, I totally thought, based on that, I should try to get it published. I wrote query letter after query letter to no avail. I pitched it at a writer’s conference to several interested agents and editors who were eager to read it. And then, I met my first critique partner.

Critique? What’s that, you ask? Something very important, in my opinion.

I don’t have a writing ‘routine.’ Every book is written differently. Sometimes I pants, sometimes I plot. I write everyday for a while and then give it up for a week or two or three. But what remains constant is critique. Every book I write goes through my critique group. They tear it to shreds and then some. It hurts at first, but soon you grow a thick skin and you are able to look at every piece of advice as potential to make the story better.

After the critique group, I revise, sit on it for some time, and then revise again. It then goes through other critique partners. Once the revisions are made from those edit suggestions, it then goes out to beta readers.

Some advice is thrown out and some is used. All is considered. It takes more than one person to write a good novel. I’m very fortunate to have a group of critique partners to help my ideas become wonderful reading experiences.

After the day I met my first critique partner (who still remains a part of my critique circle), Loramendi’s Story improved significantly. The premise remained, but the writing, plot, and even the title changed for the better.

Thank you, Tony, for hosting me on your blog today! It was fun.

 

You can find Angela Carlie at her website or any of the following:

Website: http://angelacarlie.com

 

Blog: http://angelacarlie.blogspot.com

 

Twitter: @AngelaCarlie

 

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/angelacarlie

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Guest Post: Angela Carlie

  1. Hi Tony! Thank you for asking me to post on your blog. And thanks to your readers for stopping by!

    It looks like the post did get jumbled a little bit while being transported. That happens now and then. 😉

    It should read:

    “Although Loramendi’s Story is the first complete full length novel I wrote, it was the third to be published. In August of 2008, I had an idea for the story. What if fairytale creatures really do exist? Like shapeshifters, witches, wizards, dragons, etc. And what if they lived in my backyard, the Pacific Northwest?”

    Thanks again!

Leave a Reply

