Author Interview: Chris Hazelton

I’ve been a huge fan of webcomics, anime, and comics in general. So, I’m really excited to have

an interview with Chris Hazelton, author of the webcomic Misfile. It’s been up and running since 2003, and is still going strong. In the world of Misfile, Heaven is run as a huge filing system. Angels spent countless hours making sure the files are in the correct place. One angel, Rumisiel, mixes up some files, misfiling a boy as a girl and a different girl as 2 years younger.

Ash has lived his life as a boy in high school, street-racing and being a stereotypical guy. After the misfile, his whole world only remembers him as a girl. Only he remembers being a guy. He/she meets Emily, who had been ready to enter Harvard, but suddenly she was a sophomore in high school again.

Rumisiel comes down to Earth to try and cover up his mistake. If he can correct them, maybe he’ll get the chance to re-enter heaven and get his job back.

The comic is filled with a lot of fun, a lot of info about cars and street-racing (it’s educational too!). So, without further ado, Chris Hazelton.

1. Tell me about Misfile. This webcomic has been popular for several years. How did you come up with the storyline? What made you think of a filing system?
 Misfile is the representation of heaven’s burocracy run amok.  I orginally came up with the idea while working a filing job back in 2003.  When I was confronted about being late with a file, I responded with “taking too long to find a file isn’t the end of the world”.  That led me to think “well, what if it was”.  The idea kind of spiralled from there.
2. I’ve heard writing novels and writing comics requires the same skill set. How do you go about writing?
 Writing is a many staged process for me, starting with just lying around trying to imagine how my charscters would respond to the crap I throw into their lives.  I’m pretty sure the process is different for everyone though.
3. I’m a huge fan of the comic. What’s in store for Ash, Emily, and Rumisiel?
 I can’t give away any spoilers, but I can tell you I know where the story ends up.
4. Are there any other projects you are working on?
 I’m always working on several.  Some more than others.  The hard part is keeping myself focussed on just one.
5. What advice do you have for authors? Or aspiring comic artists?
 Don’t do it for the fame or the money, because there isn’t a lot.  If you love to do it, just do it.  And don’t “wait until you’re ready”, because you’ll never feel ready.
Thanks for joining me, and best of luck with Misfile and the other projects you have in store.
Misfile can be read online here.
Copies of the book and other swag can be bought here.
One thought on “Author Interview: Chris Hazelton

  1. Pingback: Spending Time with Shotgun Shuffle | Tony Graff

Leave a Reply

