If Juniper Crescent became a movie…

I got asked a question awhile ago that’s been on my mind for some time. “If Juniper Crescent became a movie, who would be in it? What would my star cast be for the movie of my novel?”

That was a good question, and one that I have been thinking about when I have a spare second.

I think I have this, but I’m also open to suggestions.

Oksanya: My first choice for playing the girl turned cheetah is Seychelle Gabriel. If you’ve seen M. Night Shayamalan’s The Last Airbender (It wasn’t that good a movie, but she has a good role in it.) She currently is the voice of Asami from Avatar: The Legend of Korra. Cut her hair to about her chin, add some purple streaks and cheetah spots, I think she could do it. She has the attitude for the serious moments that build her, but also the optimism that endeared me to her as a character.

 

 

 

 

Darren Vor Tallen: It’s hard to find tall actors, especially ones that can fit the mold of Darren, Oksanya’s father. He’s got to be strong, both emotionally and physically. Someone who can look intimidating, but also be as gentle as he needs to be. And he has to be able to have the mutton chops. Every image of him in my mind has those really nice side burns. This gave me a few ideas. Cast idea number one: Hugh Jackman.

He’s been in every X-Men movie as Wolverine, the main character in Australia, and he’s currently Jean Valjean in the now filming movie, Les Miserables.

And, thanks to the magic of video editing, he can be tall enough to be Darren. He can be aggressive.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Nick was a tough character to find in my mind. He’s got two different hair colors and two different skin colors, and he’s quiet and steady in what he has to do. He’s Oksanya’s strength when she feels weak. He’s sure of himself, even if that opinion is lower than others think of him. So, my thought was the lean guy who played Peeta from The Hunger Games (A great book, and really worth the read). Trim him down, add a slice of black spikes and dye the rest blonde. He could do it. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And finally, the last character that I felt really good about adding to my dream cast for Juniper Crescent is Hailey Burns. The first woman to fly had to be someone special. And have a great Southern accent. When I watched The Help, Emma Stone caught my attention. She can pull of the Southern Belle really well. I’ve seen her in Zombieland, Easy A, Crazy Stupid Love, and She’s going to be Gwen Stacy in the Amazing Spider-man. She is talented. Make her blonde, put wings on her, she definitely has what it takes to be the beautiful Hailey Burns.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

So, that’s what I have for now. I’m still working on finding just the right man for playing Michael Garringer. What do you think? Who would you cast for the different people in Juniper Crescent?

One thought on “If Juniper Crescent became a movie…

  1. I think Chris pine would make a snappy Michael. He’s got the good looks and brash attitude to play a believable villain.

Leave a Reply

