Midnight Quest, with Honor Raconteur

Today I managed to get Honor Raconteur to stop writing long enough to talk about her latest novel, Midnight Quest, which has released only a few days ago. I had been a fan of her work since I met her in 2010.

So, without further embellishment, here’s Honor and Midnight Quest.

 

Midnight Quest, as with most of my books, started with a dream. Unlike most of my books, I didn’t dream about the main character at all to begin with. It actually started with Rialt—a very strong soldier who was rudely jerked awake in the middle of the night by an angry goddess.

Needless to say, I had to know what happened next.

I started jotting down what I knew, and then had to back up and add a prologue to introduce the main character. This was where I hit a stumbling block. I just couldn’t seem to write the prologue in a way that made me happy. For a while, I couldn’t figure out why. Then I slept on it (I do this a lot with my creative flow problems) and woke up with the answer: my main protagonist was blind.

My first thought? Cool! A blind character as the main girl. I’d never seen that done before in a fantasy, not a character that was truly blind. My second thought? Crap! How do I write this?!

MQ-cover mostly fixed BN

This was especially challenging because about half the book is from her perspective. The rest of it, I kind of took turns with her three armsmen. In the beginning of the book, it was like mental gymnastics. (And I hadn’t done a proper warm-up first!) But I interviewed my piano tuner, who’s blind, and he gave me more of a basis to go off of. I did close my eyes and tried walking around the house a few times. (Have the bruises to prove it, too.) Actually, I found myself closing my eyes a lot and imagining what would be around her. About halfway through the book, I was so used to feeling the world she was in, it wasn’t a challenge anymore.

As challenging as the book was to write—and having to describe whole scenes and events without a visual aid can make any person’s brain cramp—it was still very fun to write. In fact, I laughed so hard because of the mental image in my head that I found myself incapable of writing some scenes. I literally had a laughing fit for about five hours, off and on, trying to write one scene. (I can’t re-read it either without falling out of my chair.

Like my other books, this is just a good, clean fantasy that any age can read and enjoy. It has action, a little romance, and fun characters. Perhaps just as importantly, it teaches a good lesson to all those who read it. With the Advent Mage Cycle, the moral of the story was about power and the responsibility that comes with it. With Midnight Quest it’s about true courage.

I hope that anyone who reads it not only enjoys the story but feels that they gained something from reading it.
just cute

To pick up a copy, go here for Amazon or here for Barnes and Nobles.

Leave a Reply

