Guest Post: The Top Hat, the Process, the Inspiration, and Me

Alrighty, if you’ve read/watched my rant about faerie tales, you’ll know I have a healthy respect for the genre. It’s hard to write well, and unfortunately some of the most popular faerie tales shouldn’t be considered faerie tales at all.

https://mail-attachment.googleusercontent.com/attachment/u/0/?ui=2&ik=2ac4751e72&view=att&th=13ef77f915b4f533&attid=0.3&disp=inline&realattid=f_hhchy7wq2&safe=1&zw&saduie=AG9B_P--WsWOT2mvshwRviuR4gfE&sadet=1370176268544&sads=PSJKG7-YXYLD4cG_TquBJDsckUsSo, today makes me happy, because I get to have Catherine Stovall, author of Faire Eve, come and talk about her writing process. Faire Eve is making its way through the blogosphere, and I had to be a part of it.

Here’s a blurb about Faire Eve, then we’ll get to Catherine and her writing:

Under the watchful eye of her over protective mother, Eve grew up in a world without magic and fancy. She never cared about riding a unicorn, dancing at balls or being a princess. Now, all the things she never desired are hers and every other girl’s dream is her nightmare

 

When asked to talk about my writing process, my writing habits, and my inspiration, I usually cringe. I hate admitting to people the unorganized merry-go-round ride of chaos that is what I do. I know, I know, artistic types are allowed some free range into the eccentric. I just don’t think many of them take that little bit of leeway and run so far.

First, the process. Uhmmm…. I don’t have one. Typically, I have 20 WIPs running around loose. My dad would’ve said they are like chickens with their heads cut off and my ‘writing process’ pretty much mimics that. I write whenever, wherever, and without a plan. There are no legit outlines, just an idea of what I want. Most of the time, I am curled up in my chair at my desk, snuggled under a blanket, my keyboard in my lap, my feet up on the bed, and my top hat securely in place. I don’t have an office, just the corner of my room. The walls around me are decorated with Marilyn Monroe and the memory board my kids made me that is full of notes from fans, pictures, and souvenirs from appearances and give-a-ways. Mountain Dew, music, cigarettes, and Scooby Snacks are a must.

Now, we can talk about when I write. I have taken a year off from working outside the home to concentrate on my writing and I suffer from un-medicated clinical insomnia. The great part of not having to go to work and not sleeping is that I can write at any time. Of course, there are always those nagging needs like using the bathroom, cooking for the kids, and showering. My favorite time to write is late at night, though. My mom always said that nothing good happens after two a.m. but, I get to prove her wrong often. Something about the silence and peace of my house in the wee hours of the morning is inspiring.

Speaking of inspiration, let’s talk about what inspires me. (Did I mention I’m not subtle?) I am inspired by everything in life. My kids, my little sister, my friends, music, nature, and bad dreams play a predominant role in the things in my works. Sometimes my works inspire the bad dreams but, hey, that’s the way it goes. The best part about being a writer is everything in life is useful. The more you live, the more emotion you can pump into your work. Heartache, joy, anger, and disappointment are all things that can be transferred into powerful scenes.

All in all, I’m just a crazy gal who loves to write. I live, I learn, and I wrap it all up in fictitious trappings and hope that someone enjoys it. I think that is the only thing we, as authors, can do. When it all done and said, and someday lay down my top hat, I hope to be able to say that someone somewhere liked what I gave to the world. I live by the Marilyn saying, I don’t want to make money, I just want to be wonderful.

https://mail-attachment.googleusercontent.com/attachment/u/0/?ui=2&ik=2ac4751e72&view=att&th=13ef77f915b4f533&attid=0.2&disp=inline&realattid=f_hhchy7wm1&safe=1&zw&saduie=AG9B_P--WsWOT2mvshwRviuR4gfE&sadet=1370176343888&sads=GBjCOcjGPG45gP6g7tzCmaWtcZ4

To keep up with Catherine Stovall, you can follow her on Twitter, Facebook, or her website.

One thought on “Guest Post: The Top Hat, the Process, the Inspiration, and Me

  1. Pingback: Faire Eve Blog Tour – Day 2 – Tony Graff | Page Turner Book Tours

Leave a Reply

