Portion Size Me, Day 10

Today was a good day for food. Really it was.

Breakfast:
1 piece French Toast (150)
herbal tea with sugar (32)
2 T Maple syrup (110)
1 container greek yogurt (160)

It was also a day where I got to see the disconnect between food servings. If I’m eating French Toast or pancakes, shouldn’t the pancake people have talked to the syrup people and gotten serving sizes that coordinated with each other? It doesn’t sound like it, but 2 tablespoons of syrup for one piece of French Toast is a lot.

But wait, it gets better.

After my Brit Lit class’s explication of Shakespeare’s Twelfth Night, I headed over to my mom’s house to partake of her loaded kitchen.

Have you ever noticed that no matter how well stocked you think your kitchen is, your parents are always able to one-up it?

Anyways, I get there and mom’s got this personal pizza ready for me. But she also knows that this particular brand of heat and eat pizza lacks pretty much anything to be classified as a topping, so she’s graciously pulled out pepperoni and cheese for me to put on top of it.

My first thought was glutton, glutton, glutton. But, I justified it because I’m not counting calories for the sake of losing weight, just as a means of data collection. I’m not restricted from eating whatever I want, so long as it’s only one serving of that thing.

Lunch:
personal pizza (330)
1/4 cup mozzerella cheese (80)
pepperoni, 14 slices (140)
1/2 can of Mountain Dew (85)

that’s right, a serving of pepperoni is 14 slices. That’s about as much as I would add for a pizza that Megan and i would share. It blanketed this poor, tiny pizza. I think the pepperoni people went on strike the same time the syrup people did.

I know what you’re thinking. You took a look at a can of soda and it says that a serving is the whole can. Well, my mom offered to split it, and I didn’t have the heart to say “no! I need the full serving!”

Though I bet I could have, just raised my fist triumphantly in the air stating “For Science!”

But I didn’t.

That did, however, free me to have a half serving of the pineapple soda I had been drinking all of last week.

Snack:
Smarties lollipop (30)
4 oz pineapple soda (55)

So, soda is like ramen. People really underestimate just how much is in there.

Dinner:
1 cup brown rice (216)
4 oz chicken breast (184)
1 T soy sauce (10)
8 oz apple juice (120)

Okay, I feel like I’ve pigged out. Pizza, soda, candy, I think I’ve hit that junk food trifecta. I dreaded adding this all up.

But the total was only 1692.

And when I saw a number like that, my first thought was “hey, I’ve got about 300 calories. I can have whatever I want.”

But I feel full, so it’s just not going to happen.

Not today.

Leave a Reply

