Things I Learned From Juniper Crescent

ImageSo, in this episode, I’m not going to bore you with all of the grammar and editing stuff that every author needs to learn within their first novel, but share some of the amazing things that I learned while creating the world of Juniper Crescent (If you haven’t read it yet, you can check it out here, here, or here).

First off, most big cats can interbreed. I haven’t seen Napoleon Dynamite, but I’ve heard that he references ligers therein. Ligers actually exist as a cross breed of lion and tiger. Then there are also lion/panther, panther/tiger, liger/lion, and liger/tiger. Each have their own distinctive markings and attributes.

Big cats also like catnip. They look just as stoned as little cats, but for some reason, it’s so much more hilarious to see a tiger spazzing out. These videos helped my research:

and

It gets me every time.

And lastly for this episode, I discovered that the struggle for identity is probably the biggest moral dilemma that people face.

I’m glad I’m not the only one.

So, I grew up surrounded by people that were confident in who they were/are. As natural as fish swimming. I didn’t have that same grasp on my mortal coil. So, I spent a lot of time wondering and experimenting. I wandered from Hawaiian shirts to goth to otaku and beyond (the transition between Hawaiian shirts and goth felt a little odd. The two just don’t mix). As I asked questions of people I knew and the occasional odd person who didn’t think I was a creeper, I found that there were many people who struggled with this concept of identity. Some folks thought it was a static force that people needed to discover, yet others thought it was a kid in an ice cream shop wanting to try everything and settling on nothing and often mixing flavors.

Personally, I’m still sitting on the fence with this whole identity thing. I’m pretty sure there is an answer out there, I just haven’t cared enough to chase it to the end. I find I get distracted a little too easily.

Image

Leave a Reply

