Ender’s Game, Reviewed

In the moment when I truly understand my enemy, understand him well enough to defeat him, then in that very moment I also love him.
-Ender Wiggins

So, I finally sat down and watched Ender’s Game.

I know everyone’s thinking “well, it’s about time, Tony. It’s only been out for six months.”

That would be because I waited until it was available from my local library. It didn’t cost me a thing. I could just run half a mile, check it out, and run half a mile back home with the DVD.

It also didn’t require pants, which is usually required when you go to a theatre.

I actually enjoyed the movie, but that might have been because I haven’t read the book in over a decade, and there have been hundreds of books in between.

What I do remember made the movie appear much more empathetic than gritty. I remember the book feeling very drill-sergeant-ish with spurts of fantasy and organic thought streams. I also seem to remember the mind game being much more prevalent.

Ender's game

However, those are vague memories, and the movie was very well presented. John Williams once again pulls out music that has made him a legend in cinema. I mean, he’s got a list of movies he’s written music for that spans all the way back to the 60’s and includes Harry Potter, JAWS, and Star Wars. I’d list that as one of the reasons Orson Scott Card waited so long to get this movie going.

If I had a complaint, it’s because the movie felt short. Not just because I have some passing familiarity with the story, but there was just a feeling that I was still missing something from the story. It has to be chalked up to the transfer of mediums. The book has time to have the depth that movies never will. The books just don’t have the atmosphere capabilities that a movie can produce, however, but Ender’s Game still left me feeling like there was a… thing missing.

Leave a Reply

