It’s Review Time!

So, a couple of weeks ago I had seen enough people talking, wearing, watching, and pinteresting about the TV show Adventure Time. I decided it was time for me to give it a shot.

Luckily, the local library came to help by providing me with seasons 2 and 3 on DVD. Season 3 came in first, so I started with that.

The first episode validated my first thoughts of the depraved lunacy that has taken root in the noble traditions of animation. No sense of perspective, little to no plot worth speaking of, and a veritable pot of idea spaghetti somehow making into the completed episode.

Second episode was much like unto the first, making me wonder what demographic the creators had planned for this monstrosity.

Luckily, I continued watching through the third season, then moved on to the second. At the very least, it would be sufficient evidence that I had given it a fair shot. I mean, hey, I had survived Plan 9 from Outer Space, right? Adventure Time hadn’t been that bad.

And then I started noticing things.

In an episode a Viking like character talks about his reaction to the Expanding World Theory. Coincidently, I had learned about that in Physical Geography class last month. There are people that believe in that theory and it wasn’t created by the TV show.

Then, in a different episode, Jake is trying to lure a cow away from their treehouse by playing the violin. First song? Moonlight Sonata. When that doesn’t work, he tries a different song, and finally tries The Flight of the Valkyries.

Scattered throughout the series are the hints that the Land of Ooo is a recovering world from some kind of apocalypse. Finn’s the only human, and all of the other creatures are mutations of common objects. They find ancient artifacts like VHS tapes, advanced technology that survived (BMO), all the while taking everything with the child-like logic that would propel a child to do the things that happen.

After watching both seasons, I understand now. It’s something the latest generation of parents can associate with alongside their children. The proverbial ‘whole family’ can sit together and watch this and both have the question of “what’s going to happen next?” in their mind. The kids for the wacky animation and sheer tomfoolery of the  various plotlines (I’m convinced there’s no need to watch the show in any particular order), plus there could even be ideas of learning crucial life lessons like being yourself and no one gets to touch you in places without your permission.

Am I now a devoted fan of the show? No, not really. I don’t even think I’ll invest money in it. Maybe a BMO thing, since that’s what all the personality tests are labelling me as, but that’s about it.

BMO

But, employing the skills I learned in Art Appreciation all those years ago proved useful, and made something that I had despised on first impress into something that could quite possibly be enjoyed.

Leave a Reply

