And Then The Nostaliga Hit Me, Part 4

So, this was a piece I did for my Creative Writing class a few years ago. I just let words hit paper, and it was actually the one my teacher liked best of all the things I did. I managed to pass the class with a B, and thankfully it had nothing to do with obscure mythological references like selkies, domovoy, or others of the same ilk.

 

“Tyler, pinch me.” Matt peered over the top of the display of PS3’s in Gamestop. “There’s the new girl in English class, and she’s kicking butt on Left 4 dead.”

Tyler raised an eyebrow.

Matt nodded and motioned to look over the top. There was the recent addition to their English 221 class at a console station pounding a controller with her thumbs.

“That’s hot.”

“No kidding, right?” Matt agreed. “I’m going to ask her out.”

“Right. Like you could muster the courage to do that.” Tyler smirked.

“One of these days I’ll surprise you. I’ll just walk up and bam, do something awesome.”

“It’ll surprise everyone, I’m sure.” Tyler crossed his arms over his chest. “Anyways, I was going to ask her out last week.”

Matt narrowed his eyes at his best friend. “So, that’s why you were blushing.”

The two stared at each other, producing the most intense look they could.

“How about this,” Matt broke the stare off first, “neither of us have asked her out. So we’re pretty much on equal footing.”

Tyler nodded.

“So, let’s think of this like Super Mario. We are both trying to get to the princess. We’re both in the same world, and we’re both hoping we don’t have to stomp on each others’ heads to reach the goal.”

“That would sound really awkward if we didn’t know we were referencing a video game.”

Regardless of how awkward it might have been, they shook hands on it, then both peered over the top of the display, only to find the object of their affections had disappeared. Tyler and Matt raced out into the mall. When they couldn’t see her, they darted off in separate directions as quickly and casually as possible.

Matt hurried past shoppers and stores, humming to himself how cool it would be to date a gamer girl. At the end of the hall, he began thinking about how rare beautiful gamer girls were – the holy grail to many a gamer –, and his pace increased.

On the other side of the hall, by the food court, Matt saw the same back of a green shirt that he had seen in Gamestop. He raced past shoppers and pretzel stands to come up to her talking to none other than Tyler.

“Yeah, I managed to get tickets to the Comicon convention in San Diego, but I haven’t been able to find anyone to come with me.” Tyler shrugged his shoulders and sighed.

Matt narrowed his eyes. “Let the head-stomping begin, bro.” He came up beside Tyler and the girl from class. “Ow.” He raised a hand to his eye. “Oh, ow.”

“What’s wrong?” The girl asked.

“It’s my eye.”

“Did you get something in it?”

“No,” Matt admitted, looking out his uncovered eye at Tyler. “You caught it. Last week in class.”

“Wow.” Tyler rolled his eyes. “Seriously?”

The girl, on the other hand, giggled. “I must say I haven’t heard that one before.”

“What can I say? You were really amazing in class. I really liked your piece about the samurai gnomes attacking a sentient cake. Very deep. I thought it was metaphorical.”

Now the girl in the green shirt raised an eyebrow. “Oh. See, I actually wrote that because it was a random story I told my little brother at bedtime. There wasn’t anything deep about it.” She crossed her arms over her chest challenging Matt to respond.

Tyler did the same.

“You are right. I am a doofus. Can I make it up to you by taking you out for dinner?”

She thought it over. “Well, there is a new restaurant I want to try…”

Tyler took that as his cue. “Want to go to Comicon with me next week?” He looked at Matt out of the corner of his eye.

Matt swore to himself, unable to top Comicon. The combined knowledge of not being able to top Tyler’s offer, and the fact that the second ticket was supposed to be for him, put him at a loss for words.

But there was the girl, looking at him. Her long hair tumbled down her shoulders like a waterfall of nerdy enticement. The glint in her eyes was like the gigantic jewel given to Player 1 after a boss battle. Her shirt fit her curves perfectly.

Matt closed his eyes, placed a hand on either side of her face, and pressed his lips against hers. Her mouth moved like she was going to say something, but after a second he felt her lips press more fully against his. Her arms curled pleasantly around his neck.

When they disconnected, the girl in the green shirt had a satisfied smile. “That was something.”

Matt raised his eyebrows expectantly.

“The thing is, my boyfriend saw it.” She pointed to a broad shouldered guy with a buzz cut. He was standing right behind Matt “I don’t think he found it as… intriguing as I did.”

The boyfriend left Matt folded inside a trashcan.

“Sorry, Mario, but your princess is in another castle.” Tyler offered a hand to pull his best friend out.

Leave a Reply

