Farewell to a Legend

Today, I just found out that Sir Terry Pratchett, creator of Discworld and author of 70 novels, has passed away. This is heartbreaking not simply because we’re losing one of the greatest literary minds the world has ever known, but because we’re lost in that fine gray line between mortality and immortality. Sir Terry Pratchett and Discworld have earned their immortality before Pratchett’s death, but that immortality doesn’t mean that there’s going to be new books coming out, which adds a finality to immortality, which our brains just can’t fathom.

But, his avid readers, myself among them, still found hope in the tweets that arrived on social media this morning:

Terry Pratchett last tweetsThe first Terry Pratchett book I read and my gateway drug to the Disc was The Wee Free Men. From there it snowballed through the four books of Tiffany Aching, then to Monstrous Regiment, then all of the Going Postal series, the Color of Magic, Mort, Soul Music, Reaper Man, Raising Steam, Small Gods, The Light Fantastic, The Hogfather, and more that I just can’t remember at the moment.

What made Sir Terry Pratchett a legend among authors is how complete the Disc became. The heroes ranged from the most neglected of characters to that person who simply shouldn’t have been given the label of hero by any stretch of the imagination. We were taught what it means to be human by clay golems and orcs, we were taught the value of work by a con man, taught the value of life by Death himself, and loyalty by a gang of drunken fairies.

Terry Pratchett is a hero of mine. My favorite quote of his as an author was this:

You need to have your feet on the ground as much as your head in the clouds. The cute dragon that sits on your shoulder also craps all down your back, but this makes it more interesting because it gives it an added dimension.
Read more at: http://www.azquotes.com/quote/599064
My favorite book from the Disc is Unseen Academicals. I greatly sympathized with Nutt, the orc who had been reformed to be a candle dribbler. Whenever my anxiety was high and the entire day felt like a waste of time, I felt a feeling that said I needed to do something, anything, to change that emotion. I found a name for that emotion from Unseen Academicals and Nutt. His constant question of “Have I obtained worth?” has helped me ground myself and helps Megan understand where I’m at emotionally.
Mister Pratchett, I’m going to miss you.
Leave a Reply

