A bold new adventure in food

So, I’ve had my hands in some pretty cool food adventures throughout my blog (even though this was supposed to be about writing and the books I’ve published), and today I’m going bigger and better with what I’m learning to make. This time, it’s smoked cheese.

Now, I smoked eggs to try out smoking, but this is the opposite direction from that. Cold smoking, I’ve read, is all about temp and fire control. The goal is to keep the smoker at around 70 to 90 degrees Fahrenheit.

Here’s a pic of my rig.

image

On the left is my foil pack of Apple wood chips. In the center is a reusable ice pack, and on the right is half a pound of muenster cheese and a quarter pound of Monterey Jack. We’ll see in a couple of hours if this is a success

Leave a Reply

